Tulane Home Tulane Shield logo linking to site home page

COACHE survey goes live February 14, 2023.  Click here for more information!

Suzanne & Stephen Weiss Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

“The Teacher Who Changed My Life”

Every year, Tulane University bestows two faculty with one of our most prestigious awards – the Stephen and Suzanne Weiss Presidential Fellowship for Undergraduate Education. As a member of the Tulane Community, you are uniquely positioned to tell us who should win these awards.

  • Who has changed your life?
  • Who has gone the extra mile for you?
  • Who has supported and mentored you in a meaningful way?

All regular, full-time Tulane University faculty are eligible who hold the following academic titles: Assistant Professor, Associate Professor, Professor, Professor of Practice and Senior Professor Practice. Nominees should have achieved success in:

  • Making distinctive contributions to teaching such as challenging and well-organized presentations of the subject, adaptability to the learning needs of students, creating inclusive and equitable classroom environments, innovative approaches to course materials, creation of scholarly materials for student use, and availability to students outside of class.
  • Influencing students beyond the formal role as a teaching such as advising or mentoring individual students, advising student organizations or groups, serving on teaching and curriculum committees, interacting informally with students.
  • Helping students such as aiding in case of illness or other emergencies, advising students confronted with personal problems.

All nominations should be submitted electronically via the following online form:



The deadline for nominations is Friday, February 10th, 2023.

For questions, please contact CELT.

NOTE: A precondition for any award nominee/recipient is that the faculty member MUST be present at Commencement.

Click here for more information on the Weiss Presidential Fellowship for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching, as well as a list of previous award winners.